+3 votes
130 views
in Technical issues by (242k points)
reopened
Delete Gmail account: how do I do it?

1 Answer

+4 votes
by (1.6m points)
edited
 
Best answer

Remove the Google account entirely, including the Gmail address
Before deleting the Gmail account
How to delete a Gmail account step by step

image

Delete Gmail account: how do I do it?

Not everyone uses the Gmail email service included in the Google account. If this is your case, you can remove it from the account easily and Without thinking twice, since you will continue to have the rest of Google services at your disposal. However, there are some things to keep in mind before deleting your Gmail account. Obviously, if you have never used this service, you should not worry about losing any data, but if you want to backup emails and other account data, you should pay attention to certain things..

Index
  1. Remove the Google account entirely, including the Gmail address
  2. Before deleting the Gmail account
  3. How to delete a Gmail account step by step

Remove the Google account entirely, including the Gmail address

Of course, it is possible to delete the entire Google account , with all its services , at any time. In this case, Gmail is also automatically deleted. However, it is advisable not to rush into making this decision, since, on the one hand, the right to use all Google services is lost and, on the other, the data stored in Google Cloud cannot be accessed. By the way, the paid functions are also affected by deleting the Google account: for example, music, movies or games purchased from Google Play can no longer be used when closing the account.

advice

The G-Suite office suite offers a wide variety of modern functions and solutions for professional use..

Before deleting the Gmail account

If you only want to delete the Gmail account, but not the Google account, you need to have another email address. Therefore, if you don't have it, you should look for an alternative to Gmail. The reason is that, when you unsubscribe, you must enter an active email address so that Google can continue to offer you access to all its services. This way, you confirm your identity for future logins and you can continue using all the functions.

You should also take into account where your Gmail address appears, either as contact information or to log in to other applications. We recommend that you do not delay in changing the data on the corresponding pages. This will ensure that people can easily contact you when you change your address and that you can continue to use all online services as usual..

Closing the Gmail account removes all email settings as well as messages. Therefore, it is a good idea to take an external backup of the email history before deleting the account. The program allows you to do it in various ways. In the settings of the Gmail account, for example, you can make this data backup.

image
You can make a copy of the emails from Gmail using the blue button? Download data ?. Please use this feature before deleting the Gmail account.

There is an easy way to back up your data: Google can send you a download link by email , with which you can download the file. By the way, this is possible not only with data from Gmail, but also from all other Google services, such as Google Calendar, Google Photos or browser history. You don't want to backup the files on your device, but rather in the cloud? No problem: Google offers the option to save the file to Google Drive, Dropbox, or Microsoft OneDrive.

If you change your mind later, you may be able to get your account back with your regular email address . However, do not trust that the data is still available, especially if you deleted the Gmail account a long time ago. In this case, you usually won't be able to retrieve your emails. Therefore, it is advisable to make a backup before deleting it.

If you use your Gmail account as part of a group (such as school, college, or work), you may not be able to easily delete it. In case of problems, contact your email group administrator.

How to delete a Gmail account step by step

With the following explanations and images, we will guide you step by step to delete the Gmail account .

First step: log in to Google and open your email account.

Second step: open the option to? Manage your Google account ?.

image
Click on your personal Google account icon and select? Manage your Google account ?.

Third step: on the menu? Data & personalization ?, select Gmail.

image
In the menu on the left, select? Data & personalization ?. Next, click on Gmail in the box titled? Things you create and do ?.

Step four : click? Delete Gmail ?.

image
Click the small arrow to the right of Gmail. The basic information of your email account will be displayed. In the lower right corner, you will see three dots, which you must click to open the drop-down menu and select? Delete Gmail ?.

Step 5: Enter a new primary email address.

image
Enter a new primary email address and click? Send verification email ?.

Step 6: confirm the deletion using the link.

You will have received an email from Google in your inbox, which you must open to click on the link it contains. When you do, you will confirm the deletion of the Gmail account and the system will direct you to its page automatically.

Step 7: Sign in again.

The system will direct you to another Google page, where you must log in again with the access data of your Google account. With this last step, you confirm your identity and complete the removal process.

Eighth step: your Gmail account has been successfully deleted.

After logging in, a notice will appear that you have been able to delete your Gmail account. In the future, you will need to sign up for all Google services with your new primary email address.

In summary

You can delete your Gmail account without losing any data or having to do without the rest of Google services. Have you deleted your entire Google account and now you regret it? Don't worry: it is also possible to recover your Google account.


...