This shouldn't be a surprising thing, but among all the features offered by the WhatsApp instant messaging app, there is one function: block a contact you no longer want to chat with..
- Record your WhatsApp video calls on iPhone and Android (opens new window)
- Tips and Tricks: WhatsApp (Everything you need to know) (opens new window)
While there's no definite way to find this (other than, of course, the contact telling you), there are some suspicious signs that confirm that you are indeed blocked. If you feel like you are being blocked by someone, but aren't sure if you are, try following these steps:
Look for “Seen at” or “Online” for the Contact in the chat window
This is the first and easiest way to check if you are blocked. Although this is not a confirmation, since contacts may have just changed their settings from "Seen To", it is certainly one of the indicators.
Check for updates to the contact's profile picture
If you're stuck on WhatsApp, a user's profile photo will never change for you, and you can always see the photos they've uploaded while chatting with you. If the change is not visible, you may be stuck..
Send a message to the contact
Any message sent to a contact who has blocked you will always show a check mark, meaning the message was sent on your end, but will never be updated as a second check mark, meaning the message has been handed over.
Any attempt to make a WhatsApp phone call to a contact who may have blocked you will not be successful..
Create a WhatsApp group with the contact
It should be noted that all of the above attempts may fail due to a simple network error and therefore it cannot be considered that you have been blocked and this attempt will clear all your doubts. Try to create a WhatsApp group with the contact you think has blocked you. If you receive a message saying "You are not authorized to add this contact", you are probably blocked.